Sicilian Women Are Scrubbers

I first wrote this for my Sicilian Godmother blog – it perfectly introduces my mother-in-law, one of the main protagonists in my new novel The dangerously Truthful Diary of a Sicilian Housewife”

The Dangerously Truthful Diary of a Sicilian Housewife

Honestly. They spend more time scrubbing, washing and generally sanitising things than they do in any other activity, save possibly ironing.

This year, I am joining in the spirit of things by spring cleaning early. I didn’t want to, but my Mother-in-law made me. I admit the place has become a little grimy but, frankly, I thought the fact we no longer have running water was a more than adequate excuse. In fact I don’t even know how one cleans a house without using water. But my Mother-in-law does! Of course she does. She’s Sicilian.

The Godmother brought a small selection of her own scrubbing brushes, in case my own hoard was inaequate The Godmother brought a small selection of her own scrubbing brushes, in case my own hoard was inaequate

Well, I am far too busy dry-cleaning my home to write a blog post this week. I think the best way to keep you in the picture is by re-posting my report on My first ever spring-cleaning…

View original post 1,502 more words

Leave a Reply

